top of page

Diamond Brewery

The brewery is an architectural gem in the style of an old castle. Unfortunately, we were only able to visit parts of the building complex, as parts of the building were also locked. The company was founded in 1841 by the brothers Albert and Hermann Wernecke. It later traded as Actien-Brauerei and from 1905 under the traditional name Diamant Brewery. The brewery grew steadily in the following years. In 1941, the Actien brewery had 680 employees. With an annual production of almost 250,000 hectoliters of beer, it was the largest brewery in the province of Saxony at the time. In 1947, the brewery became "Volkseigener Betrieb" (VEB) and was now called VEB Diamant-Brauerei. In 1991 the Diamant brewery became a 100% subsidiary of the former Erste Kulmbacher Aktienbrauerei (EKU) and thus part of Brau und Brunnen AG. Until 1994 beer was brewed on the company premises in the Neue Neustadt. Until the end of the 1990s, Brau und Brunnen had diamond beer produced in other breweries belonging to the group. After that, the brand disappeared from the market.

bottom of page